MUSLIM!-and I’m proud of it!

MUSLIM!-and I’m proud of it!

clip_image002

If I were to tell you that Muslims once ruled Spain and that in the era of 14th century they left a landmark so splendid -Al Andalus Palace- a building to which stands no comparison till now! You would obviously give me the “you’ve gotta be kidding me” look. But believe me dear reader this is as true as you and I are!

clip_image004

Al Hambra is the most magnificent reminisce of Muslim rule in Europe. The poetry based architecture reflects the skill and the love for art behind the minds that went into bringing out the master piece. Great creativity is reflected from each and every building holding no resemblance to each other in the art and craftsmanship. Each court is unique in its crafted walls, ceilings, doors and windows. Marbles, precious stones, ceramics, what not was used in the construction of Al-Hambra.

Located on the hill of La Sabica, al Andalus, Spain the Al-Hambra Palace consists of the Royal Complex-containing the living quarters of the royal families and their servers. The most amazing thing to notice here are that the bathrooms had a water supply system (both hot and cold) plus pressurized water for showering and all this in 14th century! Oh my!

A room of the palace and a view of the Court of the Lions.

clip_image006

Other than this there are several courts, notably the Court of the Myrtles- which chiefly gets its name from the myrtles which grow around the pond-the main feature of this area. The pond helped to cool the palace and acted as a symbol of power.

The Court of Lions- the name comes from the figures of twelve lions in white marble, located centrally in the court. Yet another unique example of Muslim art.

The Court of the Lions

clip_image008

The other courts include the Court of the Council Chamber and the Court of the Vestibule.

The three popular halls of Al-Hambra are the Hall of the Ambassadors- and was the grand reception room containing

the throne of the sultan- Hall of Abencerrajes and the Hall of two sisters.

clip_image012

All these buildings reflect an exquisite architecture to which words cannot do justice to. And this is the landmark which tells the story of the great position the Muslims held. And this my dear reader has been an inspiration to many in the field of art, literature and music and this is one of my inspiration to becoming a true Muslim, from mind, body and soul. Yes I’m a Muslim and I’m proud of it!

“Note: architectural references were taken from Wikipedia.

For further information and tour into the Al Hambra log on to youtube and get stunned from the beauty of the building!”

by Javeriya Sayeed Siddiqui

29 responses to “MUSLIM!-and I’m proud of it!

  1. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with useful info to work on. You’ve performed an impressive activity and our whole group might be thankful to you.

  2. I truly enjoy looking at on this web site , it has got fantastic blog posts. “One doesn’t discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time.” by Andre Gide.

  3. Good post. I be taught one thing more difficult on totally different blogs everyday. It can at all times be stimulating to read content from different writers and observe slightly one thing from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content material on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link on your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and in depth information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. Can I simply say what a relief to find someone who really is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know methods to deliver a problem to mild and make it important. Extra folks need to read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant imagine youre no more standard since you positively have the gift.

  6. That is the suitable weblog for anyone who desires to seek out out about this topic. You understand so much its almost arduous to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just great!

  7. Hello there! Brilliant blog post! I’m also a usual visitor (somewhat more like addict :P) to your website however , I had a is sue. I’m so far from being absoluetly certain whether its the right place to question, but you have no spam comments. I get comments frequently. Would you help me? Thanks a lot!

  8. I am often to blogging and i actually admire your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for brand new information.

  9. Hey persons I merely needed to stop by your site and check in so I could drop my link. I wish that you find our composition as practical as I did yours! We happen to be a hands on type of operation, so if you have any sort of concerns concerning our products gratify let us recognize!

  10. This is a wonderful construction. Seeing Moorish remains and architecture is the number 1 reason I would consider visiting Spain.

  11. So many things are forgotten in history. So many things never mentioned in our schools. Always praising what one self do and not what others have done, others that are the so perceived different from the so perceived us

    AlHambra is a beautiful place

I would love to hear your thoughts on my post. Feel free to speak your heart out :)

